Agjensia Kombëtare e Planifikimit të Territorit
Search Menu

General Local Territorial Plans, the work has started in 16 municipalities financially and technically supported by the Albanian Government

16 municipalities: Fushë-Arrëz, Has, Bulqiza, Patos, Peqin, Roskovec, Mallakastra, Maliq, Pustec, Devoll, Selenica, Memaliaj, Tepelena, Libohova, Finiq, Delvina, financially and technically supported by the Albanian Government have started work to develop the General Local Territorial Plans for their administrative territories.

In 2018, ALL 166 million have been allocated to the development of general local territorial plans in 16 municipalities that have joined the 26 municipalities supported by the Government during 2016, and the 7 municipalities supported during 2017. The process for “The Development of the General Local Territorial Plans” for these municipalities, divided in 5 lots, respectively: Fushë-Arrëz-Has-Bulqiza; Patos-Peqin-Roskovec-Mallakastra; Maliq-Pustec-Devoll; Selenica-Memaliaj-Tepelena; Libohova-Finiq-Delvina, shall be completed over a period of 28 weeks.

After the completion of the procurement procedure related to the GLTPs development for these 16 municipalities, 5 consulting studios, local and foreign, have been awarded the contract for assisting the municipalities throughout this process. Winning consulting studios have signed contracts with the Ministry of Infrastructure and Energy during the period of September - October 2018 and are currently in the process of drafting the documents of the General Local Plans.

Whereas, 5 other municipalities, respectively: The municipalities of Fieri, Lushnja, Berat, Kuçova and Elbasan were assisted by USAID/The Project for Local Government and Planning (PLGP), for the development of local plans, that were approved by NTC by the end of 2016.

During 2017, the Swiss Government, through the Decentralization and Local Development Programme (DLDP), provided financial and technical assistance to 5 municipalities in Northern Albania, in the development of the General Local Territorial Plans, respectively to: Malësi e Madhe, Tropoja, Mat, Klos and Vau i Dejës. The 5 plans were approved by NTC.

Since 2017, with the support of Polis University, the Municipality of Dropull is working for the development of the General Local Territorial Plan for its administrative territory.

In total, by the end of the year 2019, all the municipalities established/reconfirmed after the adoption of the administrative-territorial division, are expected to have developed their general local territorial plans for their administrative territories. These plans will serve as a development platform for the new municipalities, set the development pathway for the 15 upcoming years, serve as a document that foresees the way the municipalities, rural and urban areas will be developed, and will serve as a further guarantee for local and foreign investors and will undoubtedly facilitate the process of issuing construction permits.